Thursday, December 11, 2008
USA Swimming clarifies the breaststroke pull-out and dolphin kick!
Lane 9 News covers the USA Swimming clarification: "...During the time since the change, there has been much confusion about what constitutes the beginning of the first arm pull. Based upon the Rules & Regulations Committee understanding of FINA's interpretation and actual practice in international competition, our guidance has been that the mere separation of the hands or arms does not necessarily constitute the beginning of the first arm pull.
However, we have been informed that FINA's interpretation is now different from our previous understanding of what constitutes the beginning of the first arm pull. In order for our interpretation to conform to that used by FINA, the following interpretation is being made, effective immediately.
For purposes of Article 101.2.3, as it relates to what constitutes the initiation of the first arm pull and the allowed single downward butterfly kick, the following applies:
After the start and after each turn, any lateral or downward movement of the hands or arms is considered to be the initiation of the first arm pull. ..."
Apparently I was doing it wrong. Here is my translation and probably something will be lost: Do your turn, kick out, arm pull, and you are done - no more "anything" till you break the surface!