Monday, March 16, 2009

Alshammar's 50 meter 'fly World Record may be DQed!

This is going to be interesting. CBC Canada says she wore two suits but it wasn't two speedsuits. From CBC.CA:

"... Therese Alshammar of Sweden..., 31, clocked 25.44 seconds in her qualifying heat at the Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre, shaving 0.02 seconds off the world record she set at a meet in Barcelona, Spain, on June 13, 2007.

But officials later discovered that she was wearing two swim suits, which is no longer permissible under revised requirements ratified last Saturday by FINA, the governing body for swimming.

Meet organizers were not available for comment. ..."


But what if she was wearing a training brief underneath for modesty reasons? From The Australian:

Alshammar, 31, was wearing a brief training suit underneath a racing bodysuit and may be ruled to have breached the new rule which restricts swimmers to wearing only one swimsuit in competition.

The Swimming Australia swimsuit rules allow swimmers to wear a brief suit under the racing suit for modesty purposes but the new FINA requirement, as published at the weekend, is a blanket one-suit-only rule.



Rob D said...

I was waiting for something like this to pop up. A lot of speed suits are kind of see through and they're all really awkward to get into. Personally I always rock a regular speedo brief underneath a speed suit just for everyone else's sake. I doubt it brings me any speed advantage and they should allow this type of stuff. They need to make it easy... 2 full body suits = bad. 1 full body + brief = ok.

Tony Austin said...

You know what, you raise an interesting point. Will this apply to Masters too? Boy, FINA is really hasn't thought this stuff through.